Stateside IPA

(50)

After the last beer I felt I needed to give Mikkeller another try to make sure that not all there beers tasted like charcuterie.  I went with the Stateside IPA.  Pale Ales, IPAs, and Imperial IPAs are my favorite so I had good expectations for this one.

The pour was a cloudy kinda honey red color.  With about a 1 finger of really sticky head.  The smell is amazing.  Really hoppy with lots of grapefruit and caramel malt.  I seem to pick up a little bit of belgian yeast but I’m not sure.  The taste is a lot more malt forward than you would think.  But not so much that it overshadows the hops.  It finishes with a good bit of pine flavor and as you drink you really start to notice how sticky this beer is.  I saw a review of Mikkeller’s 1000 IBU beer and something he said about that beer I seem to pick up in this one.  He said that the beer tasted like hops.  Not that it tasted like grapefruit, pineapple, mango, floral, earthy or any of these. It tasted like you were chewing on a whole hop.  I pick that up a little bit in this one too.  If you like IPA’s I suggest you try this one at least once.  At 10$ for a pint it may be all any of us can afford.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

