Mikkellers Alright

(49)

This is my first venture into the Mikkeller beer series and Danish beers for that matter.  And as the name implies on this one it’s alright.  First let me give you a little history on Mikkeller.  It’s not really a brewery per se but a person, and at first it was 2 people that travel to different breweries and work off of there equipment.  As there website says a type of gypsy brewing.  Earning accolades very early on the first year as professionals they won Danish brewery of the year, and in there second year hit ratebeers best list.  This next little part came straight from there website.

“The succes is partly due to the brewerys focus on creating challenging beers that test the boundaries and where quality always comes before quantity. In other words, uncompromising beer”.

“The brewery want to challenge the Danes’ taste buds with intense taste adventures, and some of the inspiration is found on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean where the American breweries aren’t afraid to play and break all the rules. Mikkeller wants to provoke some of this inventiveness in Danish beer brewing, so why not show the way?”

Now that you have a little history lets get to the beer.  This one is not for the person who isn’t willing to try something new.  I figure you have to try things even if there weird and not very good to realize what’s out there and what you can really do with beer.  Mikkeller’s It’s Alright is a Belgian wild yeast ale.  Now just by it saying wild yeast you know it’s going to be a little weird.  It pours a cloudy pale yellow with a very small head that rims the glass.  The scents I got out of it was a lot of ester, Fruity, sour, some spice, straw, mold, musty.  The taste has kind of a moldy funk to it, most likely coming from the wild yeast.  In fact the yeast is so prevalent it gave me a headache halfway through the bottle.  Slightly spicy, estery, some bitterness at the end and seems to be fairly dry.  When I bought this I was told that it tasted like soprasata.  I didn’t pick it up until later on when I burped and that is exactly what I tasted.  Would I by it again?  No.  Am I glad I tried it?  Yes.

The next beer you have I challenge you to go outside of your comfort zone.  Try something new and actually drink all of it.  Try to understand what makes it taste the way it does.  Believe me you’ll appreciate it more.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

